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ATTORNEYS AT LAW

Today

Address tax rate adoption and
rate limitation for local
governments; commonly called
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Comptroller’s Webpages at
www.window.state.tx.us/proptax,

under Assessment & Collection

TDLR — license required for Tax
Assessor, Ethics

County TAC exception to TDLR


http://www.window.state.tx.us/proptax
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ATTORNEYS AT LAW

Past 37 years,
Texas
Legislature
took a simple T

Florida IaW in ‘ 4 \..V L'_s ah 4
1979 and has 3

TEXAS — SIZED
TNT.




TNT Laws

» County, cities — Local Govt Code
Chapter 140.010 (2014)

Special districts — Ch. 26, Tax Code

School districts (1999) — Education
Code Sec. 44.004;

> Water districts (2003) — Water Code
Sec. 49.236

> Small units (rate $.50 or less for
$500,000 or: less) — Sec. 26.052

V VYV



TNT Purposes

Tex. Constitution Art. 8, Sec. 21:

Requirements to adopt tax rate
have two purposes:

*+* To make taxpayers aware of
local property tax rate proposals.

*+ To allow taxpayers to rollback
or limit tax Increases.



4 Principles

1. Taxpayers’ right to know about
value increases & estimated taxes.

2. Taxing unit’s duty to calculate
rates before adoption.

3. Taxing unit’s duty to hold
hearing(s) on a tax increase.

4. Voters' right to vote for a rate
ratification/rollback election.



1st Principle

Taxpayers’ right to know about
value increases & estimated taxes.
* Reappraisal notice — April & May

* Last year’s value and this year’s
proposed value and

* Estimated taxes using last year’s
tax rate.

Owner has right to protest value.



2nd Principle

Taxing unit’s duty to calculate rates
before adoption.

April 30 (ISD 7/1 budget) & July 25
Why these rates?
Values up, rate down.

Values down, rate up.

“No tax increase - We didn't
change tax rate.” won't work.



2nd Principle

Calculate 2 rates:

Effective Tax Rate raises about
same total revenue as prior year on
properties taxed in both years.

24 Steps! Why? Total rate.
2015 taxes — lost taxes x $100
2016 value — new improvements



2nd Principle
Effective Rate:

Lost 2015 taxes: new exemptions,
new ag land, but add In court
decisions & tax refunds (for years
preceding 2015 tax year)

This Year’s 2016 Value:

New improvements & new personal
property in them — generates +$$9$;

Uncertified properties with ARB



CETRZ (County Energy
Transportation Reinvestment Zone)

*** Base year — 2013 or 20142
** Zone boundaries & properties

++ Captured value above base value
on real property per Sec. 26.03.

< ETR Lines 14 and 16D (new
improvements in Line 21 only)



2nd Principle

County and City ETR:
Not required to publish the ETR
but have available for inspection

More about publicizing later




2nd Principle

Typical ETR Issue - Why?
Not required to publish ETR.

ETR needed if taxing unit does
not adopt rate by September 30
or 60 days after certified values
(more later).
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Calculate:
Rollback Tax Rate is 2 parts:

Maintenance & Operations (M&O)
Rate for operations tied to last
year’s taxes + 8% ($.04 ISD)

+ Debt Service Rate (I&S) for
upcoming payments on bonds &
debt secured by property taxes.

Lines 25 or 26 to 52, taxing unit.
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County Rollback Rate :
For counties with a CETRZ

NG

% Line 28(G) — 2015 M&O taxes in
TIF.

g

+* 2016 adjusted values are same
as in ETR calculation (Line 23), to
remove 2016 captured value on real

property (less new improvements in
Line 21).




2nd Principle

Plus, rates may be adjusted for:

> Additional Sales Tax Rate -
local sales tax to reduce
property tax; variables in
what happens with local sales
tax and local values.



2nd Principle

Plus, rate may be adjusted for:

Additional Rollback Protection for
Pollution Control — local taxes to
be increased by county to fix
pollution problem.

Requires letter from TCEQ
commissioner certifying pollution
problem and $$%.



2nd Principle

Debt : 26.012(7) & (8) defined:

(1) paid solely from property tax;
(2) paid for more than one year;
(3) not budgeted as M&O expense;
(4) secured by property tax pledge.

Estimated Debt Collection Rate:
Certified by Tax Collector for 7/1 to
6/30 for all type collections



2nd Principle

County calculates rate for each
county fund & adds together =
Total effective and rollback rates.

Counties vary from 1 to 3 funds:
County General Fund

County Farm-to-Market (FMFC)
County Special Road Fund



2nd Principle

County duty to calculate rates
before adoption:

Effective & Rollback Rates
Available in tax office
Statement of Increase/Decrease

Adopting ETR will be more or less
$$ compared to last year taxes &
the + /- amount.
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Schedules of Certain Items:
Fund Balances: M&O & I&S funds

Debt Schedule: Upcoming payments,
using excess funds to lower

Sales Tax: Expected revenue

Criminal Justice Mandate : increase
to keep state inmates in county

Dept. or Function Transfer: rare
Enhanced IHC Expenses: increase



2nd Principle
County and City — Changed in 2014

Not required to publish ETR and
Rollback Rates, Statement of
Increase/Decrease and Schedules

But have available for inspection.

(FYI: Only special districts publish
ETR, Rollback, Schedules, etc.)



3rd Principle

Taxing unit’s duty to publish
notice and hold hearings on
tax increase.

Varies by type of taxing unit.



2016 Law Change:

» County has September 1 or
30th day after first date that
county received certified
appraisal roll.

»> HB 1953 & SB 1760



PerdueB1andonFle[derCOIhns&MOtt P

3rd Principle

County or City proposed rate equal
or less than effective/rollback:

No public hearing dates,

publish ad with no dates shown:
Notice of Tax Year 2016
Proposed Property Tax Rate for
[Name] County / City
Form 50-818
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County or City proposes higher rate
than effective/rollback:
Two hearings required with notice

Notice of Tax Year 2016 Proposed
Property Tax Rate for [Name]
County/City
Form 50-819
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Notice of Tax Year 2016
Proposed Property Tax Rate for
[Name] County / City
Proposed Rate
Last Year’'s Rate
Effective Rate
Rollback Rate
Detailed info, contact TAC info
2 hearings — date, time, location



2016 Law Change

» Additional item on published
notice.

» What purpose county proposes
to use revenue attributable to
tax increase.

» Requires 60% of commissioners
court to vote for tax increase.

> SB 1760



> At least Va-page ad in
standard/tabloid size newspaper.

» Must appear 7 days before first
hearing + on Website for 7 days.

» Published and on Website by
September 1 (or 30 days after
value certification)

» Not in classified/legal section.
» Must have 24-point + headline.



Hearing Dates
Held on weekday, not holidays.
1st Hearing 7 days after notice.

2"d Hearing no sooner than 3 days
after 1st hearing.

Post open meetings notice for both.

Quorum present. Members of
public present their views.

Announce date, time & place for
adopting rate at each hearing.



Meeting to Adopt Rate

Post open meetings notice.
Adopt budget before tax rates.

Adopt in 2-parts: M&O and Debt for
each Fund = Total.

Wording by Section 26.06.

Language in adoption order using

larger type if increasing M&O taxes.
On Website, too.



Meeting to Adopt Rate

County quorum: at least 4 members
must be present to adopt tax rate
and at least 3 must vote for rate.
County judge is a voting member.

Tx. Const. County Rate Limits:
$.80 General ; $.15 Special R&B;
$.30 Farm-to-Market/Flood Control



Deadline to Adopt Rate

Tax Code Section 26.05(a) states
rate must be adopted by:

Sept. 30 or 60th day after taxing
unit received appraisal roll
(whichever is later).

Failure to adopt by date results in
adopting either effective rate or
last year’s rate, whichever is lower.



TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT

Failure to Comply

If county fails to comply in GOOD
FAITH, a property owner may seek
injunction to stop tax rate
adoption and/or sending of tax
bills. Too late once substantially
all tax bills are mailed.

County/City: Exempt from
injunction for publication process.
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Calendar of Events

For Two Hearings:
July 25 - Values from CAD

Aug 7 or after - Calculate rates, submit to
commissioners court

- 72-Hour Open Mtg Notice

- Commissioners court proposes
rate; schedule 2 hearings if tax increase

- Publish ad no later than
September 1 or 30 days; no tax increase,
post notice and adopt rate.
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Calendar of Events

- 72-Hour Open Mtg Notice

- 1st Hearing Tax Increase with
notice posted for at least 7 days

- 72-Hour Open Mtg Notice

- 2nd Hearing Tax Increase, held
no earlier than 3 days after first hearing

- 72-Hour Open Mtg Notice

- Meeting to Adopt Tax Rate 3-14
days after hearing. Adopt before Sept. 30
or 60 days after certified values.




4th Principle

Voters’ right to call for tax rate
roliback election.

Adopted tax rate exceeds
calculated

Section 26.07 — Units other than
school district

Section 26.08 — School district (no
petition required) — tax ratification



4th Principle

County — Up to 3 Funds:

Rollback petition is when sum of
adopted rates for the funds
exceeds combined rollback rate.
Do not look at individual rates for
each fund.

AG Op. #GA-0954, June 26, 2012



Tax Rate Rollback

»* Citizens organize petition drive.

*+* 10 percent of registered voters
must sign petition if county
levies less than $5 million for
M&O purposes (not debt taxes).

*»» 7 percent must sign petition if
county levies $5 million or more.



+* Citizens submit petition within 90
days of tax rate adoption.
s> Commissioners court determines

petition’s validity and pass order
within 20 days.

»» If no action taken, petition is
automatically valid.

»» If petition not valid, county
continues to collect taxes.



Valid Petition
** Section 26.081, Tax Code

*+* To verify signatures, may require
organizer to provide info such as
Voter Registration #, Home
Address, Telephone #.

+»» Signatures not required to match
voter registration list.



»» If petition is valid, call election.

*+* Hold election within 30 to 90 days
from last day that could have
ruled on petition’s validity UNLESS
specified election date falls in the
30-t0-90 day period.

* If election fails, county continues
to collect taxes.



»* If election passes (yes to roll
back), commissioners adopt the
rollback rate as current rate.

+* Tax collector sends out new
bills with extended delinquency
date (## of dates between
mailing of original and
corrected bills).



+* Refund tax difference paid $1 or
more within 60 days.

*+* Refunds of under $1, property
owhners must request in writing.



Election Information

Election information, contact
Secretary of State’s Election
Division at 800-252-8683 or

online at
www.sos.state.tx.us/election



Rates on County Website

** 5 years of rate info for each unit
in County per Tax Code 26.16

*** No adopted rate — N/A or $0

** Link to rate info on County’s
main website

s+ 7 statements below rate table



2016 Law Change
> Adds Tax Code Section 5.091

» TX Comptroller publishes by
12/31 each year on website
statewide list of tax rates, with
total rate reported by each
taxing unit, other than ISDs

» Rates listed in descending order
> SB 1760
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